A new novel from the award-winning author of

 Upstate  &  Conception


From the writer whose debut novel Upstate was praised as “wild and beautiful” (Sapphire), “heartbreaking and true” (Dorothy Allison), and “a poetry uniquely its own” (Elle), and awarded by Terry McMillan as “capturing real emotion,” comes a powerful new story of unseen black youth: Solemn Redvine, a girl whose life winds in unexpected directions as she lives with simple people but complicated circumstances in a Mississippi mobile home community.
Coming May 3, 2016, from St. Martin’s Press

Solemn’s story completes a trilogy of black American youth for which Essence magazine recognized its author early as one of “Three Writers to Watch” who “moves beyond gritty urban fiction.” Solemn continues the tradition and style of Kalisha’s second book Conception, for which Library Journal encouraged its readers to “recommend this moving novel to readers who enjoyed Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye and Sapphire’s PUSH,” and Washington Post Book World called her “a gifted young novelist.” The novel is represented by Writers House founder Al Zuckerman, and in hardcover and e-book pre-order at MacMillan Publishers.

Author Kalisha Buckhanon

Born and raised in central Illinois, a recipient of writing awards from the American Library Association and Friends of American Writers, and recommended as “a gifted intellectual” by her former dean First Lady Michelle Obama, Kalisha Buckhanon is a Phi Beta Kappa University of Chicago graduate in English and alumni of New York City’s New School M.F.A. in Creative Writing program. She currently teaches online at Eckleburg Workshops, writes at her blog Negression and is working on her next novel Speaking of Summer.

Buy: Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-a-Million IndieBound iTunes Kindle Kobo