Conception

go to link Buy: Amazon   Barnes & Noble  Books-a-Million  Hue-Man   IndieBound    iTunes    Kindle   Kobo 

Conception: A Novel
Conception: A Novel

Told by a young mother in Chicago and her unborn child, follow Conception narrates the true love affairs and comings-of-ages of Black women across several eras of history. With spirits of resilience and adventure, Shivana and Conception fulfill wishes for love and rebirth. Winner of a Friends of American Writers Award in Adult Literature, named one of School Library Journal’s Best Adult Books for High School Students and included in the ALA’s Young Adult Library Services Association list of Best Books for Teens.


Praise

“Chronicles the voice of a soul restless, and desperately calling for a new day.” –Bayo Ojikutu, Great American Book Award-winning author of 47th Street Black

“At its best, the novel balances a bitter stocktaking with a sorrowful lyricism.” – Publishers Weekly
“Recommend this moving novel to readers who enjoyed Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye and Sapphire’s PUSH.” –Library Journal
“A poignant, heart-wrenching novel.” –Kirkus Reviews
“Heartfelt and affecting.” –Booklist
“The work of a gifted young novelist.” –Washington Post Book World
“Buckhanon is again at her best.” –Mosaic Literary Magazine
“A blistering reality check.” –Ebony
“An emotional journey. A read that highlights African-American women’s issues.” –OK! 
“Readers who brace for the adventure are richly rewarded.” Chicago Sun-Times
“Buckhanon’s second novel firmly establishes her as a timeless voice for a new generation. An authenticity of language and action permeates the novel. The realities of poor Chicago life and Shivana’s desperation to escape lead to a sad, seemingly predestined conclusion, yet do not detract from the underlying foundations of love and hope. Teens who like Toni Morrison’s work, Buckhanon’s Upstate (St. Martin’s, 2005), and other realistic novels will enjoy this one.” —School Library Journal
“An awe-inspiring novel.”  –Urban Reviews
“Kalisha Buckhanon has proven to be a distinctive author in her own right, able to capture and share the voice of today’s youth in solid, and enchanting, literary fashion.” –Fresh Fiction
“Turpin’s delivery makes this audioproduction something between a gem and a miracle.” (audiobook) –AudioFile Magazine
Solemn | Upstate   Amazon  Goodreads